World Cup Logo Piala Dunia 2014

Logo Piala Dunia 2014 (FIFA World Cup Logo)
Tournament details

Host country : Brazil
Dates : 13 June - 13 July
Teams : 32
Venue(s) : 12 (in 12 host cities)

The 2014 FIFA World Cup will be the 20th FIFA World Cup, an international football tournament that is expected to take place between June and July 2014 in Brazil.

This will be the second time the country has hosted the competition, the first being the 1950 FIFA World Cup. Brazil will become the fifth country to have hosted the FIFA World Cup twice, after Mexico, Italy, France and Germany. It will be the first World Cup to be held in South America since the 1978 FIFA World Cup in Argentina, and the first time two consecutive World Cups are staged in the Southern Hemisphere. 2010 World Cup champions Spain will be defending their title.

On 3 June 2003, CONMEBOL announced that Argentina, Brazil, and Colombia wanted to host the 2014 World Cup finals. By 17 March 2004, the CONMEBOL associations had voted unanimously to adopt Brazil as their sole candidate. Brazil formally declared its candidacy in December 2006 and Colombia did so as well a few days later. The Argentina bid never materialized. On 11 April 2007, Colombia officially withdrew its bid, Francisco Santos Calderón the vice president of Colombia announced that instead Colombia would be hosting the 2011 FIFA U-20 World Cup. With this Brazil was the only official candidate to host the event in 2014.

Brazil won the right to host the event on 30 October 2007 as the only country to enter a bid.

Venues of FIFA WorldCup 2014 in Brazil

Seventeen cities showed interest in being chosen as World Cup host cities: São Paulo, Rio de Janeiro, Belo Horizonte, Porto Alegre, Brasília, Belém, Campo Grande, Cuiabá, Curitiba, Florianópolis, Fortaleza, Goiânia, Manaus, Natal, Recife/Olinda (a stadium will be shared by both cities), Rio Branco and Salvador. Maceió withdrew in January 2009.

According to current FIFA practice, no more than one city may use two stadia, and the number of host cities is limited between eight and ten. The Brazilian Confederation requested permission to assign twelve cities hosting World Cup Finals. On 26 December 2008, FIFA gave the green light to the 12-city plan.

Even before the twelve host cities were selected, there are few doubts that the chosen venue for the final match will be the Maracanã stadium in Rio de Janeiro, which also hosted the final match for the 1950 FIFA World Cup. Originally the CBF's intentions were to have the opening match at Estádio do Morumbi in São Paulo, the largest city in Brazil. However, on the 14th June 2010 the stadium was excluded from hosting games in the tournament due to a failure to provide financial guarantees for the improvements needed to have it as an eligible venue. Despite the desire of the CBF to still have São Paulo as one of the 12 host cities, there are still no defined plans to have a proper venue in the city.

The twelve host cities for the 2014 World Cup were announced on 31 May 2009. Belém, Campo Grande, Florianópolis, Goiânia and Rio Branco were rejected.

Sumber :
Berita Terkini Asia Logo Piala Dunia 2014